Kite Reviews Kites Ozone Ozone Edge (2011)
 

Ozone Edge (2011) Ozone Edge (2011) Hot

Claim This Business
Ozone Edge (2011)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2011
Sizes
  • 5
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11
  • 13
  • 15

Boosting with the Edge is amazing, it fulfills my need to be air born and see the world from another perspective. Sending it on the 9m in 25+ knots is awesome, it explodes off the water and gives me plenty of time and altitude to take it all in. The kite is stable and predictable in the air and super smooth which inspirers confidence to go bigger and bigger and pull off engaging kite loops. Competition sailing has always interested me as it pushes the design and development envelope. Riding a proven World Championship winning design allows me to continue this interest hands on, knowing that I am riding a kite that is at the cutting edge of performance. The power and speed that this kite generates is out of this world! All you have to do is pull the bar in, edge hard and hang on, before you know it you are ripping at ultra high speeds up or down wind!

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0
Performance 
 
9.5
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.5
Depower 
 
8.5
Relaunch 
 
8.5
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Ozone Edge (2011) 2012-07-02 21:23:48 Afro Head
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Afro Head    July 02, 2012

2012 Ozone Edge

I rode the Cabrinha CB before buying the Edge. Once I rode the edge I sold my Cabrinhas. The Edge never chokes out mid boost and the float is amazing. Easy to relaunch and very easy adjustments to change the performance of the kite. Either at the bar or the kite the time it takes to tune the kite is literally seconds. No pulleys are a great thing too. The pulleys on my Cabrinhas never worked because they were always clogged with sand. The bar pressure on my Ozones is unbelievable. The older Ozones used to pull like trucks and hurt my elbows but the new Edge has completely eliminated the bar pressure. Great low end too on the lighter days. Overall I give this kite a 10. Not the fastest turning kite but the Edge is a race kite so the upwind angle of attack makes edging upwind even easier.

If you want a great upwinding kite with amazing boost, float, and little to no bar pressure then this is the one to go for.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
11M, 15M
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Ozone Edge (2011) 2011-10-22 13:40:57 DJF
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
7.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by DJF    October 22, 2011

11m Edge

I tested the Edge 11m over three days earlier this week in a variety of conditions. After the third day I took the demo kite back to the shop and bought one for myself. This is the kite to replace my 13m Slingshot Rev2.

What I was looking for was a 13/15-25 knot kite with good jumping and upwind abilities, and light bar pressure. I considered fast turning and unhooked ability as a bonus, but not a requirement.

The first session was at the low end of the windrange, and although not much exciting was going on with only around 15 knots, even small jumps stunned me with the awesome hangtime.

The second session was in slightly in stronger winds, mostly in the low 20s and up to about 25 knots. I started to really dial in the timing of the jumps and the re-direct, and was amazed at the super soft landings achievable. Even when I stuffed up a jump (quite regularly haha) I would still land softly. It would take an absolute muppet to drop like a rock with this kite (or a snapped line ). In the 25 knot gusts I never felt overpowered, instead of the kite trying to pull me off my edge and spiral me out of control downwind it just pulled me forward faster and faster. The power was totally controllable and addictive. Not once did I even consider trimming the kite. No doubt there is more top-end to be enjoyed. In the strongest gusts, my biggest jumps felt totally controllable and the kite was confidence-inspiring with a long glide and slow descent.

I am going to have to reconsider the safety margin I allow between me and other kiters/obstacles after experiencing the incredible hangtime and glide of the Edge. On Saturday the wind suddenly picked up whilst I was already in the air and I reckon I glided about 35m+ downwind. I landed about 5m from the shore and 10m from another kiter. Sorry mate, my fault. Next time I'll leave a 60m safety margin

Given how far forward in the wind window the Edge flies, it is actually quite disconcerting parking the kite at 12o'clock. This is not something i generally do, but i found it quite interesting with the Edge. It is directly above your head and feels as though at any second it's going to suddenly hindenburg…but it doesn't. It is quite a stable kite considering how high-aspect this kite is, and it is very well behaved. No jellyfishing, no jerky surges forward and backwards in the gusts.

Relaunch is a fair bit slower than what I'm used to with my Slingshot Revs, but so far haven't had any issues in relaunching it. Reverse launches work very nicely on the beach in very light winds (haven't tested reverse launching in the water yet)

I know that the new Ozone bar will have a push away safety release (will it ever make it to production?), but I'm surprised that Ozone still have a pull release. I thought this was the year 2011? Sure, it works, but IMO push-away is much better.

Overall, I'm stoked with the kite. I love the light bar pressure, big jumps, huge hangtime, and great upwind ability. It would be nice if future Edges had better relaunch and Ozone dropped the prices. I'm sure there is a reasonable explanation for why this kite retails for $400+ more than a 12m Reo……
It's a shame this kite is so expensive; I'd love to get a 7m Edge!

Pros: awesome hangtime, great upwind ability, light bar pressure, wide 'sweetspot' windrange, no pulleys (personal preference)

Cons: expensive, relatively slow turning, relatively slow relaunch, prehistoric pull safety release

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freeride
  • Race
Sizes used
11m
Was this review helpful to you? 
71
Report this review
 

News and Events

Nov 17, 2013 KiteboardingReview

2014 Kites and Boards

Most of the 2014 products are out on the market.  Most of the manufacturers and continued to develop their products and have incorporated new technologies.  Take a moment and review…

read more
Jul 13, 2013 KiteboardingReview

7/12/13

New Kites Added: We are currently adding many of the new 2013 models.  Take a moment to look at the new Airush Kites, Best Kites and the new kite from…

read more

Recent Reviews

Cabrinha Crossbow (2012)
 
8.9
Cabrinha Convert (2010)
 
8.7
Switch Combat V2
 
9.6
Switch Element V2 (2013)
 
9.8
Liquid Force Envy (2012)
 
8.5
Slingshot Mayhem (2012)
 
9.0

About Us

  • Founded in 2008, Kiteboarding Review houses one of the largest collections of kite reviews on the internet. Our mission is to provide reviews to assist users when purchasing kiteboarding equipment. Our site provides the manufacturer information and links for kites and boards in addition to user reviews.  We also have reviews and information on local kite shops and schools as well at kiteboarding launches around the world

     
    read more
     
 

Facebook and Twitter Update

Receive our Free Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest equipment reviews, great deals on kite and boards as well as specials at kiteboarding schools and shops. Your email will not be shared with anyone. You may unsubscribe at any time. For more information on our privacy policy, see our About Us page.
Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page