Kite Reviews Kites Switch Switch Element (2012)
 

Switch Element (2012) Switch Element (2012) Hot

Claim This Business
Switch Element (2012)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2012
Sizes
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11
  • 13

This versatile kite, will cope with all elements. A stable and predictable kite featuring light bar pressure, huge wind range, speed and consistent power through the turns.All Switch kites use constant-curve LE tubes and struts - no segmented leading edge tubes, kinks or weak spots. Constant curve tubes create a stiffer, more stable structure which is smaller, faster, lighter. A superior engineering structure that's aerodynamically clean and efficient. We don't do angled corners that disrupt airflow, concentrate stress and distort underload. Why would we? No one else seems to be doing this yet - but we insist on only the best for Switch riders.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.7
Performance 
 
8.8
Build Quality 
 
9.8
Control Bar 
 
7.4
Depower 
 
8.2
Relaunch 
 
9.6
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Switch Element (2012) 2013-04-12 07:14:23 Samuel
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Samuel    April 12, 2013

A multi-purpose greate kite

Hi Guys,
If it could help, you will also find my review of the Element 7.
Rider : 22 years old, 70kg.
I made 50 sessions with the Element 7 in South of France (strong and gusty wind) and in Netherland (winter conditions: 35kts and more or wave conditions: 25kts).
This kite allowed me to make a lot of progress in a first time. Light bar pressure could be a little disturbing at the beginning (especially when you jump), but it is also something reassuring and comfortable in strong wind. After a couple of session, you do not think about it anymore and just have fun.... Light bar pressure is also something I appreciate in waves conditions. In addition to that point, Element is great in waves conditions because the kite goes by himself in the good place in the wind window.
That reaches me to another good point : this is a very multi style kite. This is a good kite to make free ride, also fun in wave riding (even if Method sounds better for it) and free style is also possible.
In the winter, I took the opportunity to test the kite in strong wind. I notice that the control of the kite stays perfect, and stability two. However, the limit of the Element 7 is reached if you try to move upwind in very strong wind : the kite lost a bit of its stability but this is something reasonable comparing with other kite. The solution is to place the trim in quite full power position, to avoid depower position, and then, to move upwind.
About the construction, this kite is simply (quite) perfect: launching it is a real pleasure (fast and simple) and I am very happy of appearance of the kite after 50 sessions. (I stress that I wash it regularly (after 10 sessions more or less)). Just be careful : the univalve cause damages to your kite when you put it on the bag ... Switch put a patch on the kite to protect it but I think this patch is not sufficient. That is why I put a towel (the same like to do the washing up !) between the valve and the kite before putting the kite into his bag. Trust me, it is simple and it then, no more damages !
If you want to appreciate our Belgian hard conditions, you can watch this video on You Tube.
Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpCufpkQ ... e=youtu.be
A last point: I offer to beginners the opportunity to test Element 7 and their first kite impressions were (and mine too) very enthusiastic. I recommend this kite for beginners (easy relaunch, stability and strong construction). The bar depower is good and safe even if if the release system could be improved on two points : one : the kite continues to tract you on the water after releasing and the release system is quite difficult to refit after releasing.
Finally, let me thank Switch a lot ! Switch has created the Element and makes me very happy :-).
Cheers !
Samuel Delcominette
Switch Kites Team Rider - Belgium - Element 7 & Nitro V2 12






Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
Sizes used
7
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Switch Element (2012) 2012-12-28 13:16:56 Marc Lacoste
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
7.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Marc Lacoste    December 28, 2012

Let you try everything

Disclaimer : I'm a switch team rider. I don't get paid, though, just have a small discount because I let try other people my kites. I'm not a very experienced rider : I start to jump unhooked and to land backrolls.

But the main point of the element is to be very forgetful and to let me try anything : its reactions are always safe, it is were it is meant to be. The relaunch is really effortless, even when things aren't good looking, with the bridles over. The kite doesn't move when you don't look at it, and even if the bar pressure is easy, you always know where it is and can move it anyway.

The cost of this user-friendlyness is a not so enjoyable low end : you can use it from the advertized 13 knots (73kg rider on a 140*40 TT) but you have to move it so much you can't really think of something else. above 15 it's great though, until 24, but it's manageable till 26 and even 28 in gusts.

The depower is good, though it's designed to still have some tension when released to put it back more easily and ride more, but it's not 100%, it's a bit like suicide but not so intimidating for beginners. there is also a 100% depower with a "flag it" handle, but that's when things are getting ugly only: lines will tangle, like other 100% depower systems. having both is best.

Upwind is excellent : you're aren't going that fast (that's more manageable) but your wind angle is really close, I'm often 10° to 20° closer than the others : that let you try many new things.

In the waves, the kite is easily manageable : it stays in its place without pulling until you need it, and it gets back in the second. Jumps are sharp but not as long and floaty as the switch nitro. Unhooking is really accessible and manageable for beginners.

The construction quality is top notch, my sailmaker said those are a pain to deconstruct. Since Switch have a direct sales model without intermediates, the price is the best you can have.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
7, 11m²
Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
Switch Element (2012) 2012-09-11 17:02:28 terracquaria
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
7.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by terracquaria    September 11, 2012

Element 13

It's the best all arouder wing on the market.
For heavy boy (I'm 1.85 cm - 95 kg) start kiting from 10knot whith a big TT or raceboard. Whith 15/20 knot U can have FUN whith TT 135*41.
Perfect for freeride, bigger upwind capability, AUTOMATIC relaunce (easy in low wind),
Depower need to be extended, simply setting the depower rope.
Control bar is functionally, but can be better.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
13
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Switch Element (2012) 2012-09-11 09:44:19 Valenskiter
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Valenskiter    September 11, 2012

Easy to feel kite Switch element

Great kite,
Versatile, easy to feel good about it, though it has a huge range, is correct. I'm very satisfied

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
Element 7,9,11,13,15m
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Switch Element (2012) 2012-03-10 01:03:58 nwkiter
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Performance 
 
7.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
7.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by nwkiter    March 10, 2012

9m & 13m Element

Great kites.

I gave them 7's on performance because they are a well behaved all arounder kite. If they were crazy high performance kites then they would get a 10 but would be less of an all arounder.

the bar gets a 7 because although its really good it has some quirks. I'd like to see them move away from cast aluminum parts towards something with better corrosion resistance.

This is an excellent kite for beginner to advanced riders. If you're not sure what your style is you will like this kite. It seems to excel in the waves best and the stability is top notch. The unhooked and big air performance are also noteworthy.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
  • Light Wind
Sizes used
9m 13m
Was this review helpful to you? 
93
Report this review
 

News and Events

Nov 17, 2013 KiteboardingReview

2014 Kites and Boards

Most of the 2014 products are out on the market.  Most of the manufacturers and continued to develop their products and have incorporated new technologies.  Take a moment and review…

read more
Jul 13, 2013 KiteboardingReview

7/12/13

New Kites Added: We are currently adding many of the new 2013 models.  Take a moment to look at the new Airush Kites, Best Kites and the new kite from…

read more

Recent Reviews

Cabrinha Crossbow (2012)
 
8.9
Cabrinha Convert (2010)
 
8.7
Switch Combat V2
 
9.6
Switch Element V2 (2013)
 
9.8
Liquid Force Envy (2012)
 
8.5
Slingshot Mayhem (2012)
 
9.0

About Us

  • Founded in 2008, Kiteboarding Review houses one of the largest collections of kite reviews on the internet. Our mission is to provide reviews to assist users when purchasing kiteboarding equipment. Our site provides the manufacturer information and links for kites and boards in addition to user reviews.  We also have reviews and information on local kite shops and schools as well at kiteboarding launches around the world

     
    read more
     
 

Facebook and Twitter Update

Receive our Free Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest equipment reviews, great deals on kite and boards as well as specials at kiteboarding schools and shops. Your email will not be shared with anyone. You may unsubscribe at any time. For more information on our privacy policy, see our About Us page.
Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page