Kite Reviews Kites Slingshot Slingshot Fuel (2011)
 

Slingshot Fuel (2011) Slingshot Fuel (2011) Hot

Claim This Business
Slingshot Fuel (2011)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2011
Sizes
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11
  • 13

Ten years of refinement translate to ten years of commitment, integrity and passion to the highest performance C Kite that ever lived. It’s this kind of dedication that legends are born. Leading the charge is freestyle global team rider Ruben Lenten, as a calculated part of the design and development process of the Fuel. Innovative features such as one-pump, custom fuel injection (fine tune for wake or freestyle), unique Fuel canopy and Slingshot’s legendary construction position the Fuel as the pinnacle of all C kites.

User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 7 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.8
Performance 
 
9.6
Build Quality 
 
9.2
Control Bar 
 
8.4
Depower 
 
6.2
Relaunch 
 
8.3
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Slingshot Fuel (2011) 2011-07-05 11:54:10 Will Bailey
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
6.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Will Bailey    July 05, 2011

Slingshot Fuel 2011 (9m) Review

So the guys at Surface to Air Sports (S2AS) sent me the 2011 Slingshot Fuel 9m to demo and review. The Fuel is a pretty famous kite that is well known for its sheer power and high performance, I wanted to put it through its paces and see if it really lived up to its name. I've taken this kite out quite a few times now and overall I have been very impressed with it.

Please see full review here - http://www.willbaileykitesurfing.com/slingshot-fuel-2011-9m-review.html

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
Slingshot Fuel (2011) 2011-06-06 00:20:52 Anatoly
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Anatoly    June 06, 2011

Fuel for your glands

If you feel like bridles are no long able to etch your adrenaline glands then get the Fuel. Fast crazy powerful! Best money I ever spend!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
9
Was this review helpful to you? 
04
Report this review
Slingshot Fuel (2011) 2010-12-01 20:05:05 BPKIteboarding
Overall rating 
 
9.1
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
6.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by BPKIteboarding    December 01, 2010

Slingshot Fuel 2011

I got to demo the 11 m, 2011 Slingshot Fuel at 24-7 Boardsports at Calshot a couple of times this last week. The first occasion was approaching low tide with flat water lagoon conditions with light, gusty winds of 10 -16 Knots. I was impressed that I had the kite in the air in minutes due to the one pump system which requires only one of two valves to be put in before pumping. The kite is great looking but I was initially surprised by just how chunky the leading edge was, at first I wondered how this would affect handling. The comp stick bar is also fairly beefy and has bullet proof lines.

On the water it was soon apparent that it had plenty of power and turned much quicker than I would have expected. Kiteloops were stunning – plenty of consistent power all the way round and even in the light wind the 11m caught me before landing. The kite also manages to stay parked during unhooked tricks, which makes life a lot easier when going for handlepasses.

The second session was freezing cold < 2 degrees but windy 17 -23 knots; this time sailing on the pool to the north of the shop, still with the 11m. The kite had phenomenal power, whilst still giving great control through the loops, allowing for some variations on the trick to be attempted. The kite does sit back in the window, meaning it lacks amazing depower at the top end of its wind range, giving your legs a descent work out.

The kite inevitably hits the water when pushing your riding and when it did I was very impressed with the quick and consistent, hassle free re-launch throughout its wind range particularly as it is a 4-line ‘true ‘C’ kite’.

This kite is for higher level intermediates looking to go extreme, all the way up to experts. Overall the Fuel 2011 is a good looking, good for going massive hardcore kite. :D

Check out 24-7 Boardsports for more information http://www.24-7boardsports.com/)

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
11m
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Slingshot Fuel (2011) 2010-11-12 09:56:27 WA Surf
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
7.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
6.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by WA Surf    November 12, 2010

2011 Fuel Review

Ok here i am, Ive been at this level or riding for quite a while now and seemed to have plateaued. Im comfortably throwing powered loops, f16's, S bends, Railey's, unhooked front and back rolls land switch or normal and im basically at the point i wanna land blind and do some handle passing.

POP/UNHOOKING: I honestly believe this is the kite thats going to take me to the next level. The pop is AMAZING!, every time i landed i had so much line slack its exactly what i need to start trying to pass. I'm so stoked i literally just got back in and you cant get the grin off my face. No i haven't landed one yet but this is the first time i have really felt like I've been close.

KITELOOPS: Man this is one powerful beast when u loop it and it doesn't seem to stall back on the way to the top of the window like other kites have. My only problem is i have to get used to boosting on C kites again .. its been a while and more pendulum swing than im used to.'

RELAUNCH: well i didn't believe that a 4 line c kite was a good idea, thought i would have to go old school on it and swim towards the kite to get it on its back. But it relaunched exactly how the bow kites do.. Hold an outside line and bang up she pops. (I'm yet to do this in light winds though i don't feel it would be the same outcome)

BOOSTS: like i said have to get used to that c kite boost again its pretty different i have to swing the kite so much more. But what i do like is how even at like 2 or 10pm it still seems to hold you in the air and keep pulling very different to any of the hybrids/ delta kites im used too.

SAFETY: Yeh.. definitely use suicide the safety if activated is awful. Yes its a 100% depower but there is no stopper ball so if you do let it go it shoots up all the way to the kite and made it unlaunchable. I had to bring it back to the beach and re rig it. As for the depower rope.. don't leave it on all the way out. Its almost impossible to move. Before you go out pull just the tiniest bit of rope through (if you still want to be powered) so you can adjust the power while your out on the water.

Dead honest ive got access to heaps of kites working in the school, and this is going to be the only kite im going to want to use between 15-20 knots when im trying any wake style/ unhook tricks. If like me your frustrated with being stuck at the same level i cant recommend this kite enough. I'm sure soon you will here me all over perth screaming in extacy as i land my first slim chance or back mobe :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Slingshot Fuel (2011) 2010-10-25 15:39:45 Dave
Overall rating 
 
7.4
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
7.0
Depower 
 
2.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Dave    October 25, 2010

fuels 2011

It is my logic choice, since I kite with fuel's from 2003. I have skipped 2009 and 2010, and used 2008's for 2 years, but now I have 4 brand new Fuels 2011!

Details

Suited Styles
Freestyle
Sizes used
7, 9, 11 and 13m
Was this review helpful to you? 
22
Report this review
 
View all user reviews
 

News and Events

Nov 17, 2013 KiteboardingReview

2014 Kites and Boards

Most of the 2014 products are out on the market.  Most of the manufacturers and continued to develop their products and have incorporated new technologies.  Take a moment and review…

read more
Jul 13, 2013 KiteboardingReview

7/12/13

New Kites Added: We are currently adding many of the new 2013 models.  Take a moment to look at the new Airush Kites, Best Kites and the new kite from…

read more

Recent Reviews

Cabrinha Crossbow (2012)
 
8.9
Cabrinha Convert (2010)
 
8.7
Switch Combat V2
 
9.6
Switch Element V2 (2013)
 
9.8
Liquid Force Envy (2012)
 
8.5
Slingshot Mayhem (2012)
 
9.0

About Us

  • Founded in 2008, Kiteboarding Review houses one of the largest collections of kite reviews on the internet. Our mission is to provide reviews to assist users when purchasing kiteboarding equipment. Our site provides the manufacturer information and links for kites and boards in addition to user reviews.  We also have reviews and information on local kite shops and schools as well at kiteboarding launches around the world

     
    read more
     
 

Facebook and Twitter Update

Receive our Free Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest equipment reviews, great deals on kite and boards as well as specials at kiteboarding schools and shops. Your email will not be shared with anyone. You may unsubscribe at any time. For more information on our privacy policy, see our About Us page.
Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page