Kite Reviews Kites Best Best Taboo (2011)
 

Best Taboo (2011) Best Taboo (2011) Hot

Claim This Business
Best Taboo (2011)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2011
Sizes
  • 4
  • 5.5
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 14
  • 15
  • 17

The Taboo range represents a new concept in building the ultimate quiver of high performance kites. Each size of the Taboo is uniquely engineered to optimize performance for specific riding conditions. Every aspect of design, shaping, material selection and construction has been tested and selected to create the ultimate ride in every kite size. The Taboo delivers an unprecedented experience for hardcore riders who long to push beyond the limits of their current quiver. Ranging from 4m to 17m, there is a Taboo for all wind speeds and all advanced riding styles. Each size in the range blends a different balance of 'control', 'power' and 'flow' allowing you to completely reinvent your riding game. Unhooked big-wave riders and Wakestyle enthusiasts will find that the smallest Taboos offer the perfect blend of tight and fast steering responsiveness, light bar pressure and unhooked control, allowing them to express their style like never before. New-school riders in the hunt for eye-popping kite-loops will be blown away by the uncompromising power delivery and handling from the mid-sized Taboos. Hooked or unhooked the Taboo remains rock solid stable to the limits of its wind range. For course racing and lightwind conditions, the largest Taboos are the most aerodynamically refined kites we've ever made. Every gram of spare has been trimmed back to deliver maximum lightwind performance and racing advantage.

User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.5
Performance 
 
8.2
Build Quality 
 
9.2
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.2
Relaunch 
 
8.5
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Best Taboo (2011) 2011-08-28 03:16:34 pauliq
Overall rating 
 
7.8
Performance 
 
7.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
6.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by pauliq    August 28, 2011

8 meter is awesome 12 meter is slow and heavy

wouldn't get this kite in a 12, but the 8 is smoking

Details

Sizes used
8 and 12
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Best Taboo (2011) 2011-04-05 12:28:11 Emile
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Emile    April 05, 2011

Loving this unhooked.

I first tried the Taboo 12m of a close friend. He likes the kite for unhooked riding and is beginning to perfect some surface handle pass tricks. I was looking for a kite to replace my Naish Torch, I wanted a kite with a wider sweet spot but I did not want to have to trade ease of use and unhooked performance.

I love my Torch it has been a great kite, but the wind range is narrow, I cannot afford a full quiver, so I need a middle size kite, 12m, that covers a broad range and works well unhooked.

The 12m Taboo has not a lot of low end power, the bar pressure is light and it requires about 15mph before the kite really comes alive. For unhooking i don't want a kite with a lot of grunt as that means heavy bar pressure. The Taboo hear has a good balance.

Trim is very easy to set, the kite has a wide sweet spot and lots of depower, the range is very good. When you trim to unhook just depower the strap and pull out of the harness. There is no back stall and I feel very comfortable out of the harness. Steering control remains good, no mushy unhooked feel and the Taboo loops quickly powered or depowered.

Pop from the kite is good unhooked. Due to no back stall you do not choke the kite preparing to pop. This feels good in flat water and I could quickly try simple surface pass tricks and make them all work in a few minutes.

When you jump the Taboo you can either jump hooked or unhooked easily. Hooked in the Taboo can feel lost right at the apex of a big jump, the bar feels super light at this point. Once you direct the bar or start coming down the bar feel gets more solid again. Jumping is easy and precise, it is not a big boost kite like the best Nemesis, it is much easier to master.

Unhooked jumps are simple, Taboo holds good feel at the bar. Feedback is strong with not too much pull mid way through trick. Unhooked loops are easy and smooth with lots of pull all way round.

I have just ordered my 12m Taboo, very excited.

ps- when they are new the colors can run, so do not pack kite away wet. Wet the kite and fly it dry the first time you use it.

Em

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
12m
Was this review helpful to you? 
50
Report this review
Best Taboo (2011) 2010-11-01 10:05:48 jas
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by jas    November 01, 2010

Best kite I've tried in a very long time!!!

This kite just rocks! Finally a really good newschool unhooked kite from Best. It needs a bit more wind than the Kahoona (and some others), but plenty of power and amasing lift when enought wind. Boosted me sky high wiyh no affort at all. Fast turning (put it on the first knot - really makes a big differece). Very good unhooked stability, just like a proper C kite. Great pop, and the best is the slack in the lines after the pop. Makes passing and other newschool stuff so much esier. :) Lots of slack, it feels like a good C in that way. But still it has the depower and relaunch of a SLE. It has a kind of a bridle, but with no pullys, so you get the direct feel. Best have really make the best kite I've tried in a very long time!!!
The loop is smooth, does'nt kill you but pulls nice. It needs, like all kites to be pumped hard. It's easy to relanch compared to other kites with the same unhooked stability and slack in the lines, but not as easy as some deltas.
I still fint the Kahoona with more drift and a bit more sweet in the waves, but this kite is definantly great for waves as vell. And for unhoocking, well it's just amasing!
The build quality looks good, haven't had it that long to say anything. But if it is like Best says with the same "surf though" construction as the other Best kites, I would not worry.
The price is a bit higher than what I would expect from Best, and with just a plain bag and no pump. It more simualr priced to a lot of other brands out there. I guess it's becaurse of the R&D cost of making the 3 totally different kites based on the sizes. Anyways I thought it was well worth the money!
If you are a beginner, you would probably prefere the Kahoona or Bularoo, but for a bit more experienced kiters, starting to unhook, go high, and loop the kite, you should definantly give this kite a try! But if you all and only about jumping high, you would probably want to wait for the next Nemesis HP.
I think I could sum it all in: unhooked stability, slack in the lines after pop, and fast turning.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
12 and 8
Was this review helpful to you? 
80
Report this review
Best Taboo (2011) 2010-10-24 19:31:31 drnuke
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Performance 
 
6.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by drnuke    October 24, 2010

Taboo 12

After 3 sessions on this kite I'm sorry to say its a no go....literally. Kept winding up downwind in lighter wind. Rode it after riding my old Nemi 12 just to check and Nemi had plenty of power, Taboo barely stayed upwind even when pumped. Too bad, kite pivot turns great, has low bar pressure and very stable. Jumps poorly because of lack of power. Loved the 8 though!

Details

Suited Styles
Freeride
Sizes used
12
Was this review helpful to you? 
24
Report this review
Best Taboo (2011) 2010-10-22 06:52:33 drnuke
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
9.0
Relaunch 
 
9.0
Reviewed by drnuke    October 22, 2010

Taboo 8

Heard from the locals on Maui that this was an excellent kite. Rode in gusty Kihei conditions 20-28mph and was amazed at how right they got this kite. Light bar pressure but enough for good kite feel. Very stable. Quick but not nervous like my old Nemesis HP 8. Rode well hooked or unhooked and jumped well. The word is that Taboos lack low end...yeah, maybe 10-15% loss of low end required a little extra pumping....but the kite was just about perfect otherwise for freestyle and should be a wave winner....though yet to be proven. Stay tuned for that and for 12 test. Overall strong buy recommendation!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
8
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
 
View all user reviews
 

News and Events

Nov 17, 2013 KiteboardingReview

2014 Kites and Boards

Most of the 2014 products are out on the market.  Most of the manufacturers and continued to develop their products and have incorporated new technologies.  Take a moment and review…

read more
Jul 13, 2013 KiteboardingReview

7/12/13

New Kites Added: We are currently adding many of the new 2013 models.  Take a moment to look at the new Airush Kites, Best Kites and the new kite from…

read more

Recent Reviews

Cabrinha Crossbow (2012)
 
8.9
Cabrinha Convert (2010)
 
8.7
Switch Combat V2
 
9.6
Switch Element V2 (2013)
 
9.8
Liquid Force Envy (2012)
 
8.5
Slingshot Mayhem (2012)
 
9.0

About Us

  • Founded in 2008, Kiteboarding Review houses one of the largest collections of kite reviews on the internet. Our mission is to provide reviews to assist users when purchasing kiteboarding equipment. Our site provides the manufacturer information and links for kites and boards in addition to user reviews.  We also have reviews and information on local kite shops and schools as well at kiteboarding launches around the world

     
    read more
     
 

Facebook and Twitter Update

Receive our Free Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest equipment reviews, great deals on kite and boards as well as specials at kiteboarding schools and shops. Your email will not be shared with anyone. You may unsubscribe at any time. For more information on our privacy policy, see our About Us page.
Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page