Kite Reviews Kites Epic Epic Screamer (2012)
 

Epic Screamer (2012) Epic Screamer (2012) Hot

Claim This Business
Epic Screamer (2012)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Year
2012
Sizes
  • 7
  • 9
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14

We've been keeping our designers busy, but the payoff is the best looking kite in the sky. The 3G Screamer 7/9/12/14 are the evolution of the 2011 LTD kite. We've used creative strut design and tricked it out to be even more powerful and a little less fussy. The 3G Screamers are like a day at the rodeo... once those gates open - BOOM - it's a fun, wild and exhilarating ride that you go home and brag to your friends about. We're talking balls to the wall hang time, to the moon height and enough stoke to last a lifetime. If you want to see what we're thinking for our 4G line, check out the 3G Screamer LTD 10 meter and take in some of the new features.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.8
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.8
Control Bar 
 
8.6
Depower 
 
8.4
Relaunch 
 
8.4
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Epic Screamer (2012) 2012-03-30 09:25:12 Mac Daddy
Overall rating 
 
7.4
Performance 
 
7.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Mac Daddy    March 30, 2012

Why all the fuss

I tried a Epic Screamer today after one of the locals gave me a go at their 10m. I used the kite for about 30 mins so this is only a review of my first impressions of the kite. Some may say that this isn't enough time to give an informed view of the kite, however, I think that the half hour I spent of the kite was enough for me to know that I didn't really like it.

The kite goes upwind like a rocket and offers excellent jumping ability and hangtime. This is obviously Dimitri's go to kite for the big jumps and board-off's he's known for. By the way, if anyone has watched the video above, does anyone think he sounds like the cookie monster? The kite does turn slow for a 10m. The bar is ok and on par with most other brands. The build quality is pretty decent as well. 80% of the world's kites are probably produced in the same factory.

This is a ok kite for those who are into jumping/racing and flying the kite to its limits.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
Sizes used
10m
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Epic Screamer (2012) 2012-03-13 10:00:35 giBiLatoR
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
9.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by giBiLatoR    March 13, 2012

Put the stoke back in your riding!

Rider: 66kg intermediate
Style: Freestyle/Powered/Boooooosting on a TT (UG Steeze 137 w/ straps)
Weather: 11-35knots
Build Quality: 9.5/10
Satisfaction: 10/10
Disclosure: Addicted to kiting!


To start, I had high expectations of this kite, whilst being skeptical of all the online hype this kite has procured through basic biased online advertising, seeing is believing. And there are plenty of videos out there. Needless to say, summing up this review in 5 words, I was not let down.

About me first, I have been kiting for around 5 months starting end of October last year, in that time I have no doubt spent 5/7 days a week on the water through all conditions. I have kited on a LOT of kites in this time including full C's to bows, my main quiver consisting of F-One Bandit 3's and personally own Naish, Cabrinha, North and F-One kites, as well as this one, and have demoed quite a few others. This review may shed light on my limited experience in this sport, but take it with a grain of salt, I'm always open to demo this kite to anyone in the area.

Having had this kite out on four separate occasions testing both the bottom and upper end wind range, and I'm happy to state the low end was 14 knots and the upper end, I wasn't quite getting tea-bagged in 35 knot gusts. This kite really starts to get fun around the 18 knot mark and still easily enjoyable in the upper end of the 20's.


DESCRIPTION

Epic Screamer LTD

A quick 10 meter kite freestyle/powered moves orientated. Grasps a lot of its designs from the full C in Epic's range (the judge) with its batons and shape. The bridals remind me of Ozone C4's, this kite falls in the Hybrid catagory. It comes only in one colour BLACK w/ white writing and a gold logo.

The reinforcement on this kite is great, much better then any kite I have seen (definitely haven't seen them all though!) Dimitri is definitely a forerunner and advocate of providing the community with what they want, not just what the pro's are going to enjoy.

The bar is basic, although has everything you need. It comes with two options, 45-55cm depending on where you run the lines. The depower system is a two tab depower system similar to Cabrinha's. Standard Push away quick release as well as an under the bar center line swivel is also present. Chicken loop is good nice and strong as is the donkeydick. What I did notice about the bar was that the chicken loop has a limited amount of swing on one axis, which I thought was a great addition.

This kite/bar combo has medium bar pressure (although stated as light, in comparison to say Naish kites this kite is a much heavier feel).


HOW IT FLYS

The main focus of this design is clear as soon as you send this kite, it is designed to BOOST! And boy does it do that, in comparison to say a 2011 North Rebel, this kite has twice the hang time and being such an quick kite it rockets you up there. If you don't like jumping this is not the kite for you. Actually had trouble jumping on this kite first few times as I had to learn about flying the kite from left to right overhead on the way down so as to successfully land the maneuver.

This kite is designed for powered freestyle, and although personally not very good at unhooking, I did unhook for a raley at around 20 knots, the usual basic trimming applies on this kite to ensure it doesn't back-stall, but all in all felt good, nice solid pull. Haven't had an opportunity, or flat water to try any other moves (sbend/tantrum) yet. Same with looping, can't comment definitively, although finding moves like hooked f16's and basic pussy kiteloops a lot easier then all my other kites seems like a more constant pull through the last 3/4 of the loop.

It is a high aspect kite so sits forward in the window and can shoot up wind when powered, on the low end of the wind range this kite doesn't pull you up wind like many freeride orientated kites but is still good. And this kite generates lots of its power through its speed, more comparable to 8's and 9's then most 10's out there.

Stability of this kite is great! Although in the upper end of the wind range this kite can be quite dangerous, in the kites description it states that, it generates wind directly into power and I thought this was quite apt. On the occasion that I had it out it was a solid 25 knot day with gusts coming through at 30-35 and I found that the kite was jellyfishing quite a bit in these stronger gusts. This kite is designed to be pumped to around 11 PSI and without an electronic pump I was not able to attain this pressure (more likely closer to 8), this may have attributed to the performance of this kite in gusts.

As with all modern design kites this kite relaunches easily.

PROS

This is a goto kite for absolutely anything, because it is so quick it is great for the surf (not experienced here just quoting what I have been told). As well as being a great freeride kite. BUT this kite is designed for going large either boosting or powered moves. This kite has a wakestyle option which slows the kite down (untested). It is a great build and a pleasure to fly.


CONS

Wouldn't recommend learning on this kite as it does tend to be less forgiving in the gusts and you definitely have to be on the ball in the upper end of its wind range. This kite is designed for experienced/advanced riders, and myself not falling in this catagory has proven a steep, yet enjoyable learning curve.


END RESULT...

I find myself waking up in the morning with an ear to ear grin on my face thinking about the possibilities of taking the kite out in the afternoon. This kite will not disappoint.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Wave
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
Sizes used
10M
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Epic Screamer (2012) 2012-03-10 05:17:41 Troy
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Performance 
 
10.0
Build Quality 
 
10.0
Control Bar 
 
10.0
Depower 
 
10.0
Relaunch 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Troy    March 10, 2012

TJ

Without a doubt the best performance kite I have used. I would recommend this kite to anyone. Huge airs!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
10, 12
Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
Epic Screamer (2012) 2012-02-19 21:18:50 giBiLatoR
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by giBiLatoR    February 19, 2012

14m Screamer

Take this review with a grain of salt, this is NOT my kite nor have only been riding it for around the 4 month, and although have progressed relatively quickly, haven't had the overall experience from riding years and through all the different makes and models of kites. Having said that I have had the chance to ride quite a few kites ranging from full C's to bows. I also had a good hour long session on this kite this morning.

From taking it out of the bag it was extremely well built, much better then any of my kites (I have F-One, Naish, and Cabrinha's), plenty of EVA and overall well built. Onto the test!

This kite is known for being quite harsh on the user as it translates the wind directly into power, although I was quite surprised to feel that this was quite over-exaggerated, quite a clean feel to the power take-up, but having said that not quite as user friendly as say a Park or SB. Taking it out didn't quite have the low end that I was expecting from a 14m although my god it turns quick! Much quicker then any other 14m kite or even any 12's out there today. Jumping took a bit to get dialled but after a few attempts it was quite easy to reach heights of around the 4m (water to bottom of board) mark and even gave me time to try my first front roll board off's which I have been dying to try. AMAZING HANG TIME! Absolutely unreal for the conditions. Impossible to come in without an ear to ear grin on your face after riding this kite.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
14m
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Epic Screamer (2012) 2011-11-20 09:43:03 Kite World
Overall rating 
 
8.4
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Kite World    November 20, 2011

12m Screamer

THE HYPE:

Designed by legendary ñder Dimitri Maramenides, this is the ultimate weapon for big jumps, hang-bme and unhooked moves. If you’re interested jumping higher, riding faster and escalating every level of your kitesurfing experience, then the Screamer is for you. The experienced rider will enjoy the top end competition-ready performance, while intermediates will appreciate the fast relaunch and effortless turning that makes every session a progress builder. The Screamer is the all-access kite for any segment of the sport, from racing to hang-time and unhooked riding.

TEST TEAM NOTES:

The Screamer certainly has broad shoulders and is a good looking kite shape with nice swept back wing tips and definitely looks a bit fruity in this
colour option. Strikingly vibrant on the beach, the Epic is pretty well put together and well featured. The one pump system operates on fairly skinny tubes and the clips aren’t covered, but all the essentials are there and work well. Also simple and functional are the trimming straps that work on a traditional pull-pull webbing system and remain neat and tidy even when fully
depowered. Although not the most fancy, everything is strong, durable and easy-to-use, including the chicken-loop which is a good size and is well presented to you when hooking back in, even though there’s no self righting key in the bar.

When you put the kite up its immediately apparent that you’re not going to be short on power. The Screamer flies smoothly and is nice and light at the bar and extremely responsive for a 12 metre. But what this kite is really all about is boosting and float. You get a huge amount of lofty hangme, behaving something more like a light aircraft than a jumbo jet as its easy to control above your head and not sloppy at all considehng its size. The flight pattern isn't just up and down either; it takes you on a journey and as the boost is very easy to access by sending the kite and pulling down on the bar, it really inspires confidence. You don’t lose it above you head either, it just sits there with you but is always ready to be redirected quickly for landing. You can see that Dimitri inspired this kite as you feel more inspired to start reaching for old school grabs or taking your hands off the bar completely because it sits so reassuringly above your head while you’re flying.

Power-wise there’s plenty on tap through just pulling in on the bar. You can dive it, park it and it will drive forward. The bar pressure is just nicely on the heavy side of light. There are no stalling issues whatsoever and the kite always retains a little bit of power as it doesn’t depower to nothing, which is probably why it jumps so well and always remains so well balanced.

Its just very neat and tidy in the air. For freestyle the Screamer turns nicely and retains feeling in the turn and its cruisy nature is always evident; its just extremely comfortable and delivers smooth power. Experienced kite loopers will notice a little drop in power when they initiate the turn, but only for a second and other than that it retains good feeling through the loop. Unhooked it needs a bit of trimming, but then sits nicely out of the loop and generates good pop.

We tried the Screamer in regular 15 knot 12 metre weather and also pushed it in over 30 knots when we had no right to be on a 12 and its range is excellent.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
  • Race
Sizes used
12m
Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
 

News and Events

Nov 17, 2013 KiteboardingReview

2014 Kites and Boards

Most of the 2014 products are out on the market.  Most of the manufacturers and continued to develop their products and have incorporated new technologies.  Take a moment and review…

read more
Jul 13, 2013 KiteboardingReview

7/12/13

New Kites Added: We are currently adding many of the new 2013 models.  Take a moment to look at the new Airush Kites, Best Kites and the new kite from…

read more

Recent Reviews

Cabrinha Crossbow (2012)
 
8.9
Cabrinha Convert (2010)
 
8.7
Switch Combat V2
 
9.6
Switch Element V2 (2013)
 
9.8
Liquid Force Envy (2012)
 
8.5
Slingshot Mayhem (2012)
 
9.0

About Us

  • Founded in 2008, Kiteboarding Review houses one of the largest collections of kite reviews on the internet. Our mission is to provide reviews to assist users when purchasing kiteboarding equipment. Our site provides the manufacturer information and links for kites and boards in addition to user reviews.  We also have reviews and information on local kite shops and schools as well at kiteboarding launches around the world

     
    read more
     
 

Facebook and Twitter Update

Receive our Free Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest equipment reviews, great deals on kite and boards as well as specials at kiteboarding schools and shops. Your email will not be shared with anyone. You may unsubscribe at any time. For more information on our privacy policy, see our About Us page.
Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page