Kite Reviews Kites Best Best GP (2012)
 

Best GP (2012) Best GP (2012) Hot

Claim This Business
Best GP (2012)

Kite Details

Manufacturer
Model
Year
2012
Sizes
  • 6
  • 7
  • 9
  • 11
  • 13

The GP from Best will take you back to the future, back to when all that mattered was raw performance and nailing every new trick you tried. The GP is team rider designed, tuned and tested and delivers an unbeatable combination of pop, responsive steering and amazing unhooked feel. The Reflex leading edge design (Patent Pending), unique to the GP, works just like suspension for your kite; giving the best unhooked feel you’ve ever ridden, especially in the turns, and helps to soak up every gust. The Reflex LE design also gives the GP an extended canopy lift area giving you more lift for jumping and effortless drive for staying upwind in the competition zone. Designed for new-school and wakestyle riders the GP’s Twin Tune feature gives you multiple front and rear attachment point options so you can dial in more pop, better upwind ability and more responsive handling for competition heats or detune your GP for practicing your latest tricks. With Twin Tune you can effortlessly switch between new-school and wakestyle settings in seconds, allowing you to reinvent your style at a moment’s notice.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.2
Performance 
 
8.8
Build Quality 
 
8.3
Control Bar 
 
7.8
Depower 
 
7.3
Relaunch 
 
7.3
Ratings (the higher the better)
Performance*
Build Quality*
Control Bar*
Depower*
Relaunch*
Details
 Wave
 Freestyle
 Wakestyle
 Freeride
 Race
 Light Wind
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Best GP (2012) 2011-12-14 09:17:34 IKSURFMAG
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by IKSURFMAG    December 14, 2011

7m Best GP

At a Glance

The GP from Best is a totally new kite for 2012 and it fills the hole left by the Yarga when it departed the range some time ago. Like most brands Best concentrated their efforts towards kites with bridles and the popular Yarga got left by the way side. But with a strong freestyle team rider focus, and with boards like the Profanity highlighting a more radical direction for the brand the GP comes out of the corner fighting.

It features 5 struts, fairty square wingtips and quite a narrow chord depth. There is a 5th line bar set up with the 5th line splitting to a Y near the kite to offer some more support to the thin leading edge. The quality of the materials and stitching is very high and there are plenty of reinforcement points on the kite. The attention to detail is extremely high and the graphics hint towards its purpose... This kite is aimed at the hard-core freestyler out there looking for optimum performance.

The Bar

The GP bar, like the kite is totally new for 2012. It features all the best bits from the Redline Performance Bar and trims it down to offer the bare essentials to the freestylers out there looking for uncluttered simplicity. It features an above the bar webbing pull/pull trim system, a 5th line which runs through the bar and can be rigged as a leash or as a suicide set up. The safety release is dealt with by the very simple Pro Cuff push to release system.

In The Air

If you pick this kite up, look at the shape and the graphics and expect it to fly like your grandma, then you’ll be sorely mistaken... The GP is an aggressive, fast, freight train of a kite. But if you know what your doing, then boy is it fun! The steering is unbelievable direct, if you’ve never flown a C-Kite before then you’ll have missed out on what it feels like to be directly connected to the kite at all 4 corners. The thin profile leading edge helps it to fly aggressively through the window and it turns on a dime. Forgive us for getting all American in this review, perhaps the graphics rubbed off on us!

Hooked in the kite flies with purpose, sending the kite back in the window to boost results in a satisfying yank off the water. Whilst you get sent up with some force, you’ll need to dial in the timings to maximse the hangtime. The GP like all C kites isn’t floaty; it’s aggressive. It will send you to the stratosphere, but the onus is on the rider to get bock down safely. Unhooked the kite performs sublimely sitting just far enough back in the window to maintain power yet not stalling when you land your tricks. There is plenty of pop from the kite too when you load the edge and release the board. The top end wind range is very good on the 7m, we could hold it down no problem at all, but the low end isn’t anywhere near as good as a 7m bridled flatter kite. Of course that should really be obvious, but if you are used to flying 7m bridled kites and you jump on the GP you might need a little more juice...

For

Well built, lots of attention to detail, great fun to fly, fast, aggressive, freestyle machine.

Against

Not for the faint hearted, wind range is good for a C kite, but not comparable to a bridled flatter style kite.

Overall

It’s great to see some brands embracing the C kites of old and the GP from Best is certainly one of the better kites out there. The unhooked ability really impressed us, it is a technical kite to fly, due to its speed, but great fun when you have the skills.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
Sizes used
7m
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Best GP (2012) 2011-11-13 08:14:50 John A
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by John A    November 13, 2011

GP

I have tested the GP now for some sessions both at home and in Tarifa, here is my impression so far:

Just to make it clear I´m not a very good newschool rider, but i do manage some passes and everything to blind/ wrapped, different kind of loops, and some basic old school stuff.

I´ve tried the GP in all kind off conditions, underpowered, overpowered, waves, chop and flatwater, stable and gusty wind. First of all I expected this kite to be a handful and scare me a bit, sure it delivers tons of power and will boost you sky high, amazing lift and hangtime, but the depower was way better than I expected. I have bin flying the Team C on good stable days, and the Taboo and Kahoona on other days. It´s so much more friendly than the Team C, really when it was supergusty I could still manage this kite, never to uncomfortable. Even a friend of mine who does old school and just boosts omn snow and not unhooked on water at all, liked the kite.

So the reflex is definitly not a hype! You could both feel and see the effect on the kite.

The barfeel is a bit heavy, but it needs to be that way to be as stable unhoked, and not stear when you are trying a new trick with your kite low. It's feel like a c-kite, so you have to time your jumo with stearing your bar in a bit different way than on a SLE/delta. It´s actually a fast kite despite of it´s stability. It´s kind of like it will just sit there until you really tells it to move, and then it will move fast, with power in the turn and do what you want.

The loop is really nice, powerfull but not as "it´s going to kill me" as I espected, more like I would wish it to be. You´ll still dear to pull the loop, not like the Team C. It´s a nice powerfull loop, and it will pick you up again afterwards. But sure a bit more of a handful than the rest of the quiver, but not as dangerus as one might expect form a pure competition C.

The unhooked feel of the kite is just amazing, you can of course tune it to suite your own rinding style, but it´s soooo stable. Even the 7 felt more stable than most of the 12 I´ve ever tried, and I try kites as often as I can. I know it sounds too good to be true, but that was the feel of it, just superstable. There is a lot of slack after the pop, in the beginning you will feel quite powered, be course of a bit heavy bar pressure, but it gets so loose after the pop. You´ll find it so much easier to do the pass, and to do it with the kite low and with style. The pop is really powerfull but the slack really helps getting the trick. So I´m looking so much forward to getting more time on this kite, I´m sure it will make me a way better rider.

The bar is really smooth, a nice feel, and every part seem to have bin made with hard use in mind. A huge nice chickenloop, a nice grip, and the cuff is made of hard plastic and seems really durable. Even the chikenloop is made more durable. It´s builded upon the basics of the Redline Performance bar, but a real upgrade. There is a thicker depowerline, and low ware rubber inserts in the hole were it goes thou, to reduce line ware. Even the leash is improved, with a nice padding, a swivel, and a ticker and stronger hook.

To sum it up:
I love this kite, it´s not for everyone, but for those making their passes and are serious about freestyle. It´s the perfect wakestyle kite, and an amazing booster. It´s the best unhooked kite I´ve ever tried! And I would not be surprised if the pros stand in line to sign with Best having tried this kite. Try it, you´ll be supprised!

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Best GP (2012) 2011-11-06 07:24:01 Charl dv
Overall rating 
 
7.6
Performance 
 
8.0
Build Quality 
 
8.0
Control Bar 
 
7.0
Depower 
 
7.0
Relaunch 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Charl dv    November 06, 2011

13m

Ok so i have changed brands a fair few times over the last years always just chasing kites that i like over the hook up that i can get from other brands etc.

I have also never been a fan of big kites and generally dreaded the days that I have to pump up something bigger than an 11 as with bindings and riding a solid wakeboard it generally meant i was never going to go up wind.

This 13 really changed my mind though and it reminded me how much fun lighter sessions on bigger kites could be! On a comparison to my 11m Airush Razor I had last season it clearly had a significantly better low end being a 13, but the turning speed was on par if not faster than my 11 (I had it set on the middle turning setting where my razor was normally on the fastest and this still felt on par if not faster).

The fact that I was riding upwind better than most of the other guys out that day on 10 - 15m kites on my Watson Hybrid wakeboard vs their flatter/ significantly more efficient kiteboards was a big surprise to me as i'd normally have to walk all the time when i rode big kites. I still had to do a few walks when the wind dropped down to 12 knots but so did everyone else, once it hit 15 i was powered and pumping upwind and could carry enough speed to unhook and do basic tricks.

Pop was quite predictable and steady. I will have to test it in proper winds though or on a kiteboard because my wakeboard only works well when i'm over powered.

I have had two sessions on it now, both in very marginal conditions and i actually had a lot of fun. Will update when I ride my 9 and when I get the 13 out in steady good winds.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Wakestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
13m
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Best GP (2012) 2011-10-29 23:57:36 Nag
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Performance 
 
9.0
Build Quality 
 
9.0
Control Bar 
 
8.0
Depower 
 
8.0
Relaunch 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Nag    October 29, 2011

9m GP

Had an awesome session on this kite today, first time I've really been able to put it through its paces.

GP 9m, 22m lines rigged on rear-most back attachment point (fastest), front most attachment point on the LE.

My son and his friends had taken all our twin tips to the cable park today, so I grabbed my trusty surfboard.

Wind was about 16kts when I started, (a bit under-powered), built up to around 25kts when I stopped (very nicely powered, I'd want to trading down for a 7 if it got much stronger as I was on a surfboard).

WOW. This thing is ALIVE. Anyone who is getting a bit jaded with kitesurfing (really.. c'mon) needs to get a quiver of these babies. Super responsive, direct. Hard to compare to other kites, maybe the smaller taboos come closest in terms of feel, but you feel even more connected. You need good skills to make the most out of this kite, it flies fast and turns FAST. Faster then an 8 Taboo (on fast setting). When at the bottom end of the range, it like board speed. It responds really well to being worked, and as it's so responsive, it's really easy to work - this adds up to a great bottom end. Not like the 8 Taboo which is gutless when underpowered even if you fly it around. Not a park and grunt kite at the low end though, it's a performance machine that really rewards good flying skills. More technical to fly then the Taboo.

The depower is really good - a surprise. Forget the old Yarga, this baby has real depower.

But it just begs you to throw it around. It wants to be thrown around, and it's ready for whatever input you want to give it - it's got the speed to get to where you want it to be when you want to hit it, and the turn is instantly responsive, with heaps of smooth power. It turns really tightly, almost around it's center, nice and fast. This baby is a kite loop machine, so much fun to loop, though towards the end of my session as the wind really picked up I was backing off as I didn't want to risk breaking my surfboard.

Down the line (if you can call 0.5m wind swell a line) it's AWESOME. The drift and hang is just great, and it responds to bar input with slack lines much better then any other kite I've tried for years. The bar feel is light, but you can feel where it is, and it remains pretty constant, building only a little as the wind strength increases. It inspires confidence to go for it, whip it around, not worry about stalls, will it turn if you fly into it, over fly it, anything. Big surprise, you get comfortable on it fast. It feels like it would be a super wave kite (but I don't like 5-line kites in waves in case they roll). Unhooked is really nice. Bar weight is a bit like the 8 Taboo.

Jumping is MEGA. You HP guys will like this. I'm not a handle pass guy (leave that to my son) but you can feel the huge slack sweet spot when it's time to do that pass. Jumps are big, doesn't matter if you don't get the timing bang on, up you go. Hang time is huge too. Out jumps the Taboo by miles, it's a while since I flew HPs, but I'd be surprised if they are much better.

The grin factor on this kite is just MASSIVE. Peter, you have dialed this one in nicely! It's not for everyone, it is a bit technical as it flies and turns fast, but it really rewards good kite flying skills.

This is a total winner. Best, you have a really nice kite line up now.

Details

Suited Styles
  • Freestyle
  • Freeride
Sizes used
9m
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 

News and Events

Nov 17, 2013 KiteboardingReview

2014 Kites and Boards

Most of the 2014 products are out on the market.  Most of the manufacturers and continued to develop their products and have incorporated new technologies.  Take a moment and review…

read more
Jul 13, 2013 KiteboardingReview

7/12/13

New Kites Added: We are currently adding many of the new 2013 models.  Take a moment to look at the new Airush Kites, Best Kites and the new kite from…

read more

Recent Reviews

Cabrinha Crossbow (2012)
 
8.9
Cabrinha Convert (2010)
 
8.7
Switch Combat V2
 
9.6
Switch Element V2 (2013)
 
9.8
Liquid Force Envy (2012)
 
8.5
Slingshot Mayhem (2012)
 
9.0

About Us

  • Founded in 2008, Kiteboarding Review houses one of the largest collections of kite reviews on the internet. Our mission is to provide reviews to assist users when purchasing kiteboarding equipment. Our site provides the manufacturer information and links for kites and boards in addition to user reviews.  We also have reviews and information on local kite shops and schools as well at kiteboarding launches around the world

     
    read more
     
 

Facebook and Twitter Update

Receive our Free Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest equipment reviews, great deals on kite and boards as well as specials at kiteboarding schools and shops. Your email will not be shared with anyone. You may unsubscribe at any time. For more information on our privacy policy, see our About Us page.
Zo2 Framework Settings

Select one of sample color schemes

Google Font

Menu Font
Body Font
Heading Font

Body

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Top Header

Background Color
Background Image

Logo Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Main Menu

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Breadcrumb

Background Color
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Slideshow

Background Color
Background Image

Main Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Left Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Right Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Inset Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image

Testimonial Wrapper

Background Color
Background Image

Bottom Wrapper

Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
Background Color
Modules Title
Text Color
Link Color
Background Image
 
Top of Page